Guides · 2026-09-10 · 9 min read
Static Drawdown Prop Firms: The Floor That Never Moves
31 of the 45 prop firm plans we have verified use a static drawdown. Which firms use one, where each floor actually sits, and why 8 firms sell both types.
A static drawdown is a fixed dollar floor, set from the money you started with, that does not change for the life of the account. It is the most common structure in this market. We have verified 45 plans across 20 firms, and 31 of those plans, at 18 of those firms, use a static floor.
The number that matters is not the percentage. Every one of those 31 plans anchors the floor to the initial balance. That means you can work out the exact dollar figure on day one, and it will still be right in six months.
What is a static drawdown, and where does the floor sit?
Your maximum loss rule is the level your account cannot fall below. Cross it and the account is closed. A static floor is calculated once, from your starting balance, and stays put.
Take a $100,000 account with a 10% static maximum loss. The floor is $90,000. Grow the account to $130,000 and the floor is still $90,000, so you have $40,000 of room.
Compare that with a trailing floor, which is recalculated as the account makes new highs. On FTMO's 1-Step, the same $100,000 account starts with the same $90,000 floor. Close a day at $130,000 and the floor rises to $120,000, leaving $10,000 of room instead of $40,000.
Same headline percentage. Same account. A $30,000 difference in where you fail. That is why we record the type as a separate field rather than printing "10%" and leaving it there.
Which prop firms use a static maximum drawdown?
Every firm in our database is below, including the ones that have published nothing readable. An empty row is part of the answer.
| Firm | Static plans / plans recorded | Where the floor sits | Also sells a trailing plan? |
|---|---|---|---|
| FundingPips | 1 / 1 | 10% below the initial balance, fixed | No |
| Hola Prime | 1 / 1 | 6% below the initial balance, fixed | No |
| FTMO | 1 / 2 | 10% below the initial balance on the 2-Step | Yes — the 1-Step trails |
| FundedNext | 2 / 3 | 10% on Stellar 2-Step, 6% on Stellar 1-Step | Yes — Stellar Instant trails |
| Alpha Capital Group | 5 / 6 | 6%, 8% or 10% below the initial balance depending on the Pro tier. 6% on Three, 10% on Swing | Not disclosed on Alpha One |
| The 5%ers | 1 / 1 | 10% below the initial balance, fixed | No |
| BrightFunded | 1 / 2 | 8% below the initial balance on 2-Step Bright | Yes — the 1-Step trails |
| FXIFY | 1 / 3 | 5% below the initial balance on Three Phase | Yes — One Phase and Two Phase trail |
| Goat Funded Trader | 2 / 2 | 10% on the 2-Step, 6% on the 1-Step | No |
| FunderPro | 3 / 4 | 10% on Classic and Pro; One Phase percentage not disclosed | Yes — the Instant Program trails |
| Maven Trading | 2 / 3 | 8% on Two Step, 3% on Three Step | Yes — One Step trails |
| Blueberry Funded | 3 / 3 | 10% on Prime 2-Step, 6% on 1-Step, 12% on Flex 1 Step | No |
| OFP Funding | 1 / 1 | 5% below the starting balance or the balance at the last payout | No |
| City Traders Imperium | 1 / 2 | 10% below the initial balance, balance-based | Yes — the 1-Step trails |
| The Trading Pit | 1 / 1 | Static on CFD Prime; percentage not disclosed | No |
| FTUK | 1 / 2 | 8% below the initial balance on Two Step | Yes — One Step trails |
| Audacity Capital | 3 / 3 | 15% in the Challenge phase and 10% at Verification and Live; 6% on Ability One; 10% on FTP | No |
| Lux Trading Firm | 1 / 1 | Printed as a dollar figure: $94,000 on a $100,000 account | No |
| E8 Markets | 0 / 1 | 8% maximum loss, static or trailing not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Funding Traders | 0 / 3 | Not disclosed on the two 2-Step plans | Yes — 1-Step Pro trails |
[sources: every row is a Tier B page listed at the foot of this article, verified between 2026-09-04 and 2026-09-07]
The static floors run from 3% to 15% below the initial balance. The most common figure is 10%, on 12 plans. Several firms have not published their account size lists, so we can give the percentage for every plan but the dollar floor for only some.
Does choosing a firm choose your drawdown type?
No, and this is the part most comparison tables get wrong. Eight of the 20 firms sell both a static plan and a trailing plan, usually under names that differ by one word.
FTMO is the clearest case. The 2-Step floor is static, 10% below the initial balance. The 1-Step floor is trailing, 10% below the highest end-of-day balance. Both are sold as "FTMO Challenge" and both advertise a 10% maximum loss.
That is why our FTMO firm profile and the FTMO and FundedNext comparison keep the two products as separate records.
So a sentence like "this firm uses static drawdown" is not a fact about a firm. It is a fact about one product, and the firm next to it on the same checkout page may work the other way.
What do you give up for a floor that never moves?
A daily loss limit, almost always. 29 of the 31 static plans also carry one. Firms are not choosing between having a constraint and not having one. They are choosing which rule carries it.
And that daily rule brings the complexity back. Those 29 plans set the daily limit five different ways: the previous day's closing balance, the higher of opening balance or opening equity, the initial balance, the balance at day start, or the higher of the previous day's closing balance or closing equity. The static floor is the simple part of the account, not the whole of it.
Speed. Trailing floors cluster on the fast products. Nine of the 10 trailing plans we recorded are one-step or instant funding, while 18 of the 22 two-step plans are static. If you want to skip an evaluation phase, the floor that follows you up is usually what you are trading it for.
"Static" does not always mean permanent. OFP Funding's Instant Lite measures its 5% floor from the starting balance or the balance at the last payout, so the floor re-anchors upward each time you withdraw. Audacity Capital's floor is 15% below the initial balance in the Challenge phase and 10% at Verification and Live.
Read the plan, not the label. Our OFP Funding profile records the wording in full.
Who should look for a static drawdown?
If you scale up and want to keep the buffer, a static floor is the structure that lets you. Profit above your starting balance stays available to risk instead of raising the level at which you fail.
If you swing trade or hold through drawdown, the fixed floor removes one variable from position sizing. You size against a number you can write down before the first trade.
If your risk is one bad session rather than one bad month, the static floor is not your problem. The daily limit attached to it is, and the firms with no daily loss limit page covers the one plan we found without one.
If you want instant funding, expect a trailing floor. Two of the four instant plans we recorded are static, and one of those re-anchors after every payout. The trailing drawdown list sets out what those rules do.
What we could not verify
- Four plans do not tell us the type. E8 Markets' 8% maximum loss, Funding Traders' two 2-Step plans, and Alpha Capital's Alpha One are all recorded with the type blank. We have not read the relevant help articles. Not disclosed is not the same as trailing, and we will not fill those cells by inference.
- Two static percentages are missing. FunderPro's One Phase and The Trading Pit's CFD Prime both state the floor is static. In both cases the number sits inside a JavaScript component we could not read.
- Account sizes for seven firms. Without the size list we cannot convert a percentage into the dollar floor a reader would actually face.
- Whether other firms re-anchor after a payout. We found this on OFP Funding because the sentence was written down. We have not checked every payout page for the same mechanic. Treat "static for the life of the account" as verified only where we quote it.
- Whether Audacity's later 10% floor is measured from the original balance or from the phase starting balance. On a $100,000 account those two readings sit thousands of dollars apart.
- None of these figures come from the firms' contracts. They come from rules pages and help centre articles, which we grade Tier B. Our methodology page explains what each tier means.
FAQ
What is a static drawdown in prop trading?
A fixed floor calculated once from your starting balance. On a $100,000 account with a 10% static maximum loss the floor is $90,000. It stays at $90,000 whether the account is at $95,000 or at $130,000.
Is static drawdown better than trailing drawdown?
It is different, and which one costs you more depends on what you do. A static floor never punishes a winning run, because profit does not raise the failure level. A trailing floor gives back less room as the account grows, but it is usually attached to a shorter evaluation.
Which prop firms use static drawdown?
Eighteen of the 20 firms we have verified sell at least one static plan. They include FundingPips, FTMO, Goat Funded Trader, Blueberry Funded and Audacity Capital. Eight of those firms also sell a trailing plan, so check the product rather than the firm.
Can you fail a static drawdown while your account is in profit?
Not on the maximum loss rule itself. The floor sits below your starting balance and never rises. You can still fail the daily loss limit while in profit overall, and 29 of the 31 static plans we recorded carry one.
Sources
- FundingPips 2 Step Standard — https://help.fundingpips.com/hc/en-us/articles/34501809112081-2-Step-Standard [Tier B, verified 2026-09-04]
- Hola Prime forex trading rules — https://holaprime.com/forex/forex-trading-rules/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-04, no publication date on page]
- FTMO trading objectives — https://ftmo.com/en/trading-objectives/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-04]
- FundedNext CFD trading objectives — https://fundednext.com/general-rules/cfds/trading-objectives [Tier B, verified 2026-09-04]
- Alpha Capital rules explained — https://alphacapitalgroup.uk/posts/alpha-capital-rules-explained-drawdown-profit-targets-daily-loss-and-evaluation-rules-2026 [Tier B, verified 2026-09-04, published 2026-05-20]
- The 5%ers High Stakes drawdown — https://help.the5ers.com/what-is-the-drawdown-rule-for-high-stakes/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-05, article dated 2025-03-25]
- BrightFunded evaluation rules — https://help.brightfunded.com/en/articles/9241611-what-are-the-current-rules-for-the-evaluation-process [Tier B, verified 2026-09-06]
- E8 Markets E8 Classic — https://help.e8markets.com/en/articles/12041696-e8-classic [Tier B, verified 2026-09-06]
- FXIFY assessment account rules — https://fxify.com/faqs/all-faqs/what-are-the-rules-for-the-assessment-account/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- Goat Funded Trader 2-Step Standard — https://help.goatfundedtrader.com/en/articles/13575169-2-step-standard [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- Goat Funded Trader 1-Step Model — https://help.goatfundedtrader.com/en/articles/10630134-1-step-model [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- FunderPro the challenge — https://funderpro.com/the-challenge/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- Maven Trading FAQs — https://maventrading.com/faqs [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- Blueberry Funded trading rules — https://help.blueberryfunded.com/en/collections/14861030-trading-rules-guidelines [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- OFP Funding trading rules — https://help.ofpfunding.com/what-are-the-trading-rules-every-ofp-trader-must-follow/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- City Traders Imperium 2-Step Challenge — https://citytradersimperium.com/2-step-challenge/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- The Trading Pit trading rules — https://www.thetradingpit.com/trading-rules [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- FTUK Two Step program rules — https://faq.ftuk.com/en/articles/12310204-two-step-program-rules-forex [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- Audacity Capital funded trader program — https://audacity.capital/funded-trader-program/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
- Lux Trading Firm rules of engagement — https://luxtradingfirm.com/rules-of-engagement-3/ [Tier B, verified 2026-09-07]
Related pages: trailing drawdown prop firms · how prop firm drawdown rules are structured · how we grade sources
Every figure above is traced to a Tier A or Tier B source (the firm's own terms, rules or help pages). Nothing from aggregators or review sites is used to state a fact. Rules change; the firm's live pages override this article. Not financial advice.